Christ Church, Grosse Pointe, MI
Dominated both in
spirit and in fact, by its magnificent castle, yet the town itself is very
attractive with Georgian and Victorian buildings, church street being one of its
prettiest areas. The parish Church of St John stands in the High Street
with railings designed by Grindling Gibbons. Nearby is the Guildhall
designed at the end of the 17th Century by Sir Thomas Fitch and finished by Sir
Christopher Wren. However it is the castle that made the town and still
attracts thousands and thousands of visitors every year.
The castle is the
largest inhabited castle in the world and covers over 13 acres. Its story
starts with William the Conqueror who quickly grasped its strategic position and
the advantage of a forest for hunting close by. Since then practically
every sovereign has had a hand in the building, Henry II put up the first stone
buildings including the round tower, but the defences are still those built by
Henry III. Edward III was born at Windsor and loved it, he enlarged the royal
apartments and founded the order of the Knights of the Garter, making Windsor a
centre for chivalry. The castle is made up of three parts, the lower ward,
which includes St George's chapel, the upper ward in which lie the state
apartments and the middle ward where the enormous round tower gives wonderful
views over 12 counties.
St. Georges Chapel, Windsor
A sumptuous and impressive
building which yet gives an effect of light and spaciousness. The
perpendicular chapel was begun by Edward IV in 1475 and completed in the reigns
of Henry VII and VIII. Many sovereigns and famous men and women lie buried
here, including Charles I, Henry VIII, Jane Seymour and the present Queens
Mother and father. Queen Victoria and her husband Prince Albert were also
buried at Windsor but in the royal mausoleum at Frogmore in Home Park near the
Developed from the
Anglo Saxon words Cot and Wold, Cot meaning sheep pen. Wold meaning high windy
ground, that certainly can describe the area well, especially in the winter.
The soil is poor on the Wolds and not a lot of it but a great area for rearing
sheep. Hence the numerous villages with lovely churches (known as wool
churches) built by wealthy landowners centuries ago. The area is also
famous for the Cotswold stone a soft stone which yellows with age. Many
cottages will be seen built of Cotswold stone.
Set on a sheltered
ridge between the high Cotswolds and the Severn Vale the town enjoys a pleasant
and equable climate. Cheltenham is one of the finest Spa towns in Europe,
with a wealth of regency houses bordering elegant squares, crescents, terraces
and open spaces. George III an inveterate frequenter of spas, visited the
town in 1738 and set his seal of approval by staying at Bayshill lodge.
Lansdown Place and Montpellier Parade, among similar thoroughfares and the
Rotunda, the design for its dome being based on the Pantheon in Rome.
Montpellier walk with its shops separated by Caryatids must be one of the most
unusual shopping precincts in the world. Out on the Bath Road are two of
Cheltenham`s famous schools, Cheltenham College for boys was originally built
between 1841 and 1843. With the nearby Cheltenham Ladies college founded
by Miss Beale, the ardent Victorian champion of good education for girls.
Founded by the Romans
in 50A.D. who surrounded the town with a great red stone wall, some parts which
can still be seen today. Under the Anglo Saxons it became a very important
place and was twice ravaged by the Danes once in 876 when they occupied the town
for three years and again in 1003. Following on after the Norman invasion the
town held out till 1068 before finally accepting defeat after an 18 day siege by
William the Conqueror. The town was an important cloth manufacturing area
and because of its strategic position close to the coast trading centre right up
to the late 18th Century. Two attractive areas in the city are
the Cathedral Close and the area of the quay. Some Medieval pubs still
remain, The Ship, White Hart, Turks Head together with some fine timbered
buildings. Much however was lost in the German bombing of 1942 which
flattened a great deal of the city.
recorded that a church with a religious community probably existed here from as
early as the 7th Century and St Boniface an apostle from Germany was
educated here. It became the seat of the Bishop in 1050 when Leofric made
the Minster his Cathedral. Leofric founded a community of 24 Canons whose
successors have run the Cathedral ever since. The original Cathedral was
built in the Norman style and consecrated on the 21st November 1133.
It is believed the Cathedral had boy singers by 1180 and the office of Dean
founded in 1225. During the period 1258-80 a new rebuilding scheme was
started which built on the existing Norman foundations and by the 14th
Century only the Norman
towers remained of the original building. Little disturbance was made
until the exterior was extensively restored in the 19th Century and
changes made inside during the period 1870-1877. The building did
take a direct hit during the bombing of 1942 and much damage was done. The
Quire screen is original dating back to 1320 and the Quire has furnishings
(Bishops throne nearly 60ft high dating back to the period of Bishop Stapledon
(1308-1326) Music plays a very important part in Cathedral life and the
Choristers are educated in the school which dates back to the Cathedrals very
Very much a Cathedral city
and dominated by it, the existing building was started in 1180 continued in
stages until 1424. Many of the buildings in the Cathedral precincts are
used today for much the same purposes as that for which they were originally
built. The Vicars Close consists of a cobbled street with a total of 42
small houses built in the 14th Century for the Vicars of the Cathedral.
The Cathedral school was started in 909 and while closing for one short period
of 6 years in 1861 now records over 600 pupils. On the West front there
are 294 sculptures left of the original 386 some damaged beyond recognition, 3
new ones were unveiled by the Prince of Wales in 1985. The Chapter House
reached by an ancient stone stairway is octagonal in shape and part of a two
storey building, could be one of the most beautiful Chapter Houses in Britain.
The Cathedrals South doors lead to beautiful 15/16th Century cloisters
It is believed by many
people that under the waters of a spring on the slopes of its Tor Joseph of
Arimathea buried the chalice used at the last supper. That when on a
nearby hill, he thrust his thorn staff into the ground it took root to produce
the distinctive Glastonbury Winter flowering thorn tree, and that, on what was
later to be the site of the great Abbey round which the town grew, he built a
church of daub and wattle. Briefly this is the legend which has drawn
pilgrims to this place for centuries. In 688, King Ine of Wessex gave it a
Monastery, majestic, rich and the most beautiful in Britain which is clear from
the ruins of the church. It is also believed that King Alfred and Queen
Guinevere were re-buried in the Abbey. In the town St Johns church is a
fine 15th Century example. The George Inn was built in the 15th Century to
lodge pilgrims and the handsome market cross is 19th Century.
There is nothing quite
like this awe inspiring monument anywhere else in the world, yet at first sight
it is curiously disappointing, probably because it is set on a plain so vast
that in comparison the stones seem quite insignificant. It is only when
man stands close to the stones that he seems so puny in comparison and it is
hard to imagine how centuries ago, with only primitive tools to help them, men
could possibly have placed these huge boulders into position.
a historic place covering an area of approx 56 acres. Important due to its
prominence above the countryside below. First remains indicate a Iron age
camp, followed by the Romans, the Anglo-Saxons, then the Danes who pillaged the
area in 1003. In 1070 William the Conqueror reviewed his troops on the
plains below. The site really moved forward just after William departed.
The Episcopal See was moved from Sherborne to Sarum and a new Cathedral and
Castle where built on the site. However by 1220 the area was becoming too
small for the requirements of the community so a new Cathedral was planned
nearby.(New Sarum or as it later became Salisbury) stones from the old Cathedral
where carried away and used in the construction of the new Cathedral.
A town where there is
no need to go looking for interests in dark corners, it is all around. The
city dates back to the 13th Century when it was decided to move the Bishops seat
from Old Sarum. The Cathedral foundations were begun in 1220 and the city
started to grow. Salisbury was built on a grid or chequer system which
left space between the blocks. Cathedral Close is the most beautiful in
all England and the list of buildings with interest is unending. It is
interesting to note that the main wall around the Cathedral Close was granted by
license from Edward III.
The first sight of the
Cathedral is most impressive an early example of English architecture. Its
spire soaring to a height of 404ft the highest in England which imposes almost
6,000 tons of stone on the four pillars of the crossing. The Nave measures
198ft with a clear uncluttered beauty, little having changed since it was built.
With Foundations no more than 4 feet deep on a bed of gravel, the main building was
begun in 1220 and completed in 1258. The Cloisters and Chapter house being
finished in 1280. It was never a Monastic institution but staffed with
Secular Clergy called Canons. This arrangements continues today.
Canons would be away in their parishes for most of the year, just coming back to
the Cathedral for short periods of time. The present houses round the
close are built on the sites of the former Canons' Houses.
Once one of the most
important ports in the country, the earliest records of its commercial activity
going back to Edward II in the 10th Century when silver coins were minted here.
All this due to the fact that the River Severn and Avon was navigable to this
point. It was from
Bristol in 1497 that John Cabot and his Bristol born son Sebastian set sail with
18 sailors in the 100 ton ship “Matthew” before reaching the mainland of America
A centre for trade and commerce for over 1,000 years, the city still has much to
offer and although the large container ships now dock at the entrance to the
Avon Gorge at Avonmouth, much activity still remains around the old dock side
Augustinian Abbey founded in 1142 by Robert Fitzharding. In 1542 it became
the Cathedral Church of the newly formed Diocese of Bristol. It still
retains much of its Norman solidarity, particularly the fine Chapter House.
The Church building is known as a “Hall Church” type where high Chancel, aisles
and an Eastern Lady Chapel are of equal height. The Choir is full of
absolutely fine woodwork dating back to the 1500s and the Misericords of great
interest depicting as they do Biblical scenes. The organ was built in 1685
by Renatus Harris and all the pipework is original. Grinling Gibbons
created the superb organ case. Choristers are educated at the adjoining
Cathedral school. One important feature in the Berkeley Chapel: a Medieval
candelabrum (understood to be the only one of its kind in England recorded) has
being given to the Temple Church in Bristol
during 1450 and passed on to its present home during the terrible blitz of World
St Mary Redcliffe
Snowdonia national park.
840 square miles of varied countryside-mountains, lakes, forests, estuaries and
25 miles of coastline. It is not just a park but a working landscape,
looked after by the park committee.
People have lived in the area of Llanberis since the Iron
age. Celts, Romans, St Padarn an early Christian Saint, and the Welsh
Princes of Gwynedd. The area abounds with ancient Welsh legends and
Pass of Llanberis
The road down the pass
descends some 1,200ft and is described by many as one of the most spectacular in
Britain as it is squeezed between the flanks of Glyder Fawr (3,279ft) on the
right and Snowdon (3,560ft) on the left. The road snakes down between
vertical cliffs which tower above, punctured by boulders some as big as houses.
The mighty castle and
complete town walls on the river bank make Conwy a picturesque and richly
historic centre. It is probably one of the finest and most complete walled
towns in Europe. The walls themselves are over three quarters of a mile in
length with 22 towers and three original gateways. Conwy`s setting on the
edge of the Snowdonia National Park and the Western bank of the River Conwy is
unrivalled, as is its colourful history. The Romans arrived in the area
during the First Century A.D. and many invading kings from the East endured
great hardship trying to cross the river to subdue the Welsh Princes on the
Western bank. When Edward I did eventually seize the bank, he built a
castle to strengthen his position. The population now spreads beyond the
town walls to nearby Deganwy and Llandudno. Along the quay in the shelter
of these ancient walls is an old world full of interest. Together with a
house reputed to be the smallest in Britain and furnished as a mid Victorian
The castle was
built by Edward I between 1283 and 1289. He made it his headquarters for
the struggle against the Welsh Prince Llywelyn. Edward was himself
besieged there by a large Welsh force from the hills in 1290. The castle`s
shape is actually dictated by the very rock on which it stands. It has
barbicans at either end and eight massive towers. First impressions are of
tremendous strength, a dominating position and yet with a compactness of design
which renders it one of the most picturesque Welsh castles.
The city nestles in an
ancient river valley which runs parallel to the Menai Straits. In the 6th
Century a monastery was established on the site of the present day Cathedral.
It's founder was St Deiniol who was consecrated bishop. The city grew up
around the Cathedral, therefore derives its existence from this monastic
establishment. Recorded history however extends even further back with
monuments found in the area relating to the Bronze age “Cromlechs” proving human
occupation was taking place in the area some 2,000 years B.C. The city
today is a thriving commercial centre for the region and home to television
studios and the University College of North Wales.
The Cathedral is
built on one of the oldest Christian sites in Britain. Founded by St
Deiniol in 525AD, compared with Canterbury in 595AD. A long and somewhat
troubled history has found the Cathedral sacked by the Vikngs, destroyed by King
John in 1210 when he burnt Bangor to the ground and ravaged by the uprising of
Owen Glyndwr in 1402. The present building is thought to date from the mid
13th Century although not completed until the erection of the West
tower in 1512. A
number of restorations have taken place since then.
The tomb of
Owain Gwynedd (this area of Wales is in the province of Gwynedd) one of Wales's
foremost Princes is to be found here. Although not amongst the largest of
British Cathedrals, it does retain a charm and atmosphere all of its own.
Bangor Old Pier Originally built in 1896 and renovated in the 1980s this pier built during the height of Victorian splendour is 1,500 feet in length as it stretches out over the Menai Straight.
Snowdon Mountain Railway
The narrow gauge railway
was opened in 1896 and the steam powered locomotives climb to within yards of
the summit. The track runs parallel to one of Snowdons most popular
footpaths. The mountain is 3,560 ft above sea level.
Llechwedd Slate Mine
years the only access to Anglesey was by the famous Thomas Telford Menai Bridge
opened on the 30th January 1826. It is 1,000ft long, 579ft from pier to
pier and 100ft above the water. When crossing the straits remember those other
invaders who came 2,000 years ago. The Romans. Who also crossed
these swirling waters to put the Druid Priests and their flower maidens to the
sword in the 1st Century AD. Their action broke the mystique of ritual and
sacrifice that flourished at that time in the oak groves of the isle. The
isle of Anglesey is a bastion to the Welsh Language.
Isle of Anglesey
For centuries Anglesey`s
pastures and cornfields helped feed the peoples of Northern Wales and Snowdonia.
It earned the island the name “Mam Cymre” “mother of Wales” it is mostly flat
compared to its neighbour, the mainland of North Wales, but its coastline is
made up of fine sandy beaches, wide bays littered with rugged rocky headlands
teeming with wildlife. It is thought the first settlers came around
8,000B.C. and many prehistoric sites remain such as the stone age “Brycelli Ddu”
burial chambers and the Iron age hill forts at Caer y Twr & Din Sylwy.
Whoever held Anglesey (the granary) it is said controlled North Wales. The
Romans came in 78A.D. and all but wiped out the Druids priesthood. From
the 7th Century the Princes of Gwynedd ruled this area. Then in
1282 Edward I arrived building his castles to subdue the local inhabitants.
Anglesey also has another claim to fame; the village of Penmynydd was for many
hundreds of years the family home of the Tudors. Eventually merging with
the English royal family in 1422 when Owen Tudor married Henry V's widow.
Their grandson of course becoming Henry Tudor taking the English throne in 1485.
Today the island is linked to the mainland by two bridges, the original Telford
Menai suspension bridge 1,265 ft long, built in 1826 and the more recent
Brittania rail bridge which was damaged by fire in 1970 and rebuilt. In
1979 an upper road deck was added giving additional access to the island.
English feel to this small town stems from Medieval times when Edward I evicted
the native inhabitants and created a garrison town. Now a resort and
sailing centre with a rich variety of well preserved buildings dating back to
the 13th Century. Chosen as the site of the last of eight
castles built by Edward in North Wales. Work started in 1295, the castle
was a stronghold created using an elaborate system of concentric defences set in
a new style. Unfortunately the building was never completed through lack
of funds. A short distance from the castle is the quaint little court
house built in 1614 also the former Grammar school circa 1603. Vistoria
terraces limestone facade looks out across the green to the mountains of
Snowdonia. Castle Street has many timber framed buildings including the
Tudor Rose, George & Dragon, Bulkeley Arms Hotel (whose architect was Joseph
Hansom designer of the Hamsom cab) The parish church of St Mary & St Nicholas is
14th Century and was built to serve what was called the new town
which grew up around the castle. One interesting item in the porch is the
stone coffin of Princess Joan who was the daughter of King John of England and
eventually became the wife of Llywelyn the Great she died in 1237. It is
reported that for many years the coffin was used as a drinking trough for
horses. The town
gaol is situated in Steeple Lane and is recognised by its grim steep walls,
prisoners where held here from 1829-1878. now open to the public.
St. Mary & St. Nicholas, Beaumaris 14th Century in origin and built to serve what was called the new town which grew up around the castle. One interesting item in the porch is the stone coffin of Princess Joan who was the daughter of King John of England and eventually became the wife of Llywelyn the Great she died in 1237. It is reported that for many years the coffin was used as a drinking trough for horses.
This very pleasant seaside
town is known as the intellectual centre of the principality housing as it does
not only the University College of Wales but also the National Library.
This is the largest resort on Cardigan Bay and combines a popular seaside
attraction with a history that goes back to the Iron Age. The hill fort of
Pen Dinas overlooks the south of the town and one of Edward I many castles in
Wales is situated on a headland South of the pier.
There is evidence of a
settlement here as early as 2000BC. In Viking times, around 12th Century,
there was a wooden stronghold called "Swaynesse" believed to originate from the
name of a Viking King Sweyne Forkbeard. The Welsh name for the City is
Abertawe (pronounced "Abba Toway") meaning mouth of the river Tawe.
This tiny city (Britain’s
smallest) grew up around the religious settlement founded by St David, (patron
saint of Wales ) in the 6th Century. It is situated on St Davids
peninsula, a Celtic place of pilgrimage and peace, a granite ledge of land
jutting out into the Atlantic ocean. A truly magical place of inspiring
beauty with golden beaches, stunning coastline, nature and wildlife in
abundance. Over the centuries, an important place situated as it is en
route to Ireland. Many are said to have passed this way, King Arthur
landed on St Davids shores, Black Bart, creator of the Jolly Roger embarked on
piracy from nearby Solva Harbour and pilgrims in their thousands have trodden
the ancient roads.
St. Davids Cathedral
St Davids Cathedral
almost hidden from view in a valley at the far West of the city occupies a site
of a religious settlement founded by St David in the 6th Century.
Tradition also has it that he was born here. His mother, so the story
goes, gave birth to him on the spot on the cliffs to the South of the Cathedral
now marked by the ruins of St Nons chapel. The Cathedral with its
wonderful oak roof dates back to the 12th Century (circa 1181-82), for centuries
it was a place of pilgrimage, (two visits to St Davids being equal to one visit
to Rome). Next to the Cathedral are the remains of the ruined Bishops
Palace, how splendid this must have looked in its prime. Uniquely the
sovereign of the United Kingdom is a member of the chapter and therefore has
his/her own royal stall.
Bishops Palace St
Situated adjacent to the Cathedral at St. Davids the ruins of this magnificent
palace bear testament to the influence and wealth created by the church in
mediaeval times. Most of the construction was overseen by Bishop Henry De
Gower in the mid 14th Century. He spared no expense on creating
this lavish residence. Originally built with two sets of state rooms set
around a courtyard. He used one set for private business and the other for
the ceremonial entertaining. The palace fell into disrepair in the 16th
Century. It is said the then bishop stripped the lead from the roof to pay
for his five daughters dowries.
Situated at the
confluence of the Rivers Usk & Honddu in a pastoral vale dominated by the peaks
of the Brecon Beacons. One of the oldest Welsh towns, granted its first
charter in 1246 and in 1366 another charter gave it the right to hold a fair.
The town centre is a mix of Medieval, Georgian, Jacobean and Tudor architecture
with narrow streets and alleyways leading in all directions from the central
square which is overlooked by the 16th Century St Mary`s Church.
On the Western bank of the Usk is Christ College founded in 1541 it incorporates
the remains of a 12th Century friary and its chapel being one of the
oldest places of worship still in use in Wales. The priory church of St
John dating from the 13/14th Centuries was designated a Cathedral in
1923. Although small, only 250 ft long, it does give the impression of a
stark and fortress like strength with its simple lines and massive tower.
The capital city of
Wales boasts a castle with 1,900 years of history first built by the Romans,
some of the 10ft thick walls still remain. The Normans came and built
their castle which has been in continuous occupation ever since. Some of
the area surrounding the castle is now occupied by a superb modern shopping
centre. Hundreds of acres of parkland situated right in the city centre,
museums, the civic centre, University of Wales. St Davids Hall, a 2,000 seat
concert and conference centre. To take the city into the millennium the
new Cardiff Bay project, a redevelopment of the old Cardiff docks area.
Capital City of England & the United Kingdom
Within a few years of invading Britain in 43AD the Romans had built forts and
towns across the land. They linked these outposts with a number of well
constructed roads, some of which had to cross a wide tidal river (Thames).
The Roman engineers eventually picked a crossing point from generally marshy
ground on the South bank (with islands of firm ground) to an area on the North
Bank situated on two low hills, these hills formed the highest and driest site
on the tidal river. At this point the Romans built their bridge and before
long a settlement grew up on the hills and then a City took shape, the Romans
called it Londinium. The landscape that greeted the Romans now lies deep
beneath the modern city, upto 8 metres deep, the reason, every new building over
the past 2,000 years was built on top of the rubble of the old.
Opened in January 2000 as a part of the Millennium celebrations it is 135mtrs
high and is the worlds highest observation wheel. The fourth tallest
structure in London. It is 35mtrs taller than Big Ben, 30 mtrs taller than St
Pauls, three times as high as Tower Bridge and a third taller than the Statue of
Liberty. The 360` rotation will take approx 30/35 minutes. The wheel
has 32 fully enclosed capsules holding up to 25 people each. From its highest
point passengers can see 25 miles in each direction on a clear day.
Horse Guards Parade
The former tiltyard or
jousting field of Whitehall Palace, used for the ceremony of Trooping the Colour
each June to celebrate the Queens official birthday. The Horse Guards
building by which one enters the parade ground from the direction of Whitehall
was reconstructed in 1750 prior to which it was the gatehouse of the Palace of
Westminster. The horse mounted guards who stand duty under two archways
either side of the clock tower stand guard for just one hour at a time not all
day. The soldiers belong either to the Life Guards (red tunics & white
plumes) who formed the bodyguard for Charles I or the Royal Horse
Guards (blue with red plumes) who grew out of a regiment formed by Cromwell.
Both regiments now belong to the Household Cavalry which provides the Queens
Bodyguard on all state occasions.
Houses of Parliament
The present building
occupies the site of the old Royal Palace. The oldest surviving part of
this palace is Westminster Hall (some of the walls dating back to 1097/99).
In 1840 Sir Charles Barry with the help of his eccentric assistant, Pugin began
building the neo Gothic new house which still graces Parliament Square.
Although it was badly bombed in 1941 the Commons Chamber was completely
destroyed, the new one was opened in 1950. As you look at the palace from
the square the commons are on the left and the lords on the right.
Standing a little to the left of the building is Westminster Hall. This
ancient hall is 290ft long, 68ft wide and 92ft high, it was built in 1097 by
William II and modernised by Richard II in 1399. It was here that Charles
I was condemned to death in 1649, Edward II abdicated in 1327, Oliver Cromwell
was installed as protector and the Guy Fawkes conspirators sentenced to death.
It was the centre of London life, a very public place in which to have sentence
passed. it remains lofty, beautiful, impressive and empty, the oldest part of
the palace and the most lovely.
One of the longest
rivers in England at 215 miles in length, it flows from its source near
Cheltenham to the sea through some of the most beautiful countryside before
becoming the main artery that the wealth of Britain has been bourn. No
river can have influenced a nations destiny more, from Roman times to the
This ancient hall is 290ft long, 68ft long and 92ft high. It was built in
1097 by William II and modernised by Richard II in 1399. It was here that
Charles I was condemned to death in 1649. Edward II abdicated in 1327.
Oliver Cromwell was installed as protector and the Guy Fawkes conspirators
sentenced to death. It was the centre of London life, a very public place
in which to have sentence passed. It remains lofty, beautiful, impressive
and empty, the oldest part of the palace and the most lovely.
Cabinet War Rooms
In 1940 as the bombs rained
down on London, Winston Churchill, his Cabinet, his Chiefs of Staff and
intelligence chiefs were meeting below ground in a fortified basement in
Whitehall, later to be known as the Cabinet War Rooms. They offered
shelter in which to work, sleep and live for as long as necessary. When
the war ended the lights were switched off and the rooms left silent and
untouched for many years. The rooms were in operational use from 27th
August 1939 to the Japanese surrender in 1945 the war cabinet held more than 100
meetings in these somewhat cramped rooms. Without doubt some of the most
important decisions of the Second World War were taken here.
Until the 18th Century the
original site was occupied by Buckingham House which was bought by George III in
1762. When George IV acceded the throne in 1820 he commissioned John Nash
to build a palace fit for a King on the same site. Much of the original
structure and decoration survives to this day.
10 Downing Street
Has been the official
residence of the Prime Minister since Sir Robert Walpole, the first Prime
Minister lived here in 1732. The street was named after its builder, Sir
George Downing. The iron gates were erected for security reasons in 1989.
Legend has it that the
first Church built on Thorney Island in the Thames was built by King Segbert in
the 7th Century, there is also mention of a Charter from King Offa of
Mercia to the people of Westminster granting land. We also have a Charter from
King Edgar in the 10th Century for the restoring of the Benedictine
Abbey. It is also written that a substantial foundation existed in Westminster
when King Edward the Confessor became King in 1042. We do know that Edward
started to build a Church here close to the previous building and it was
consecrated on 28th December 1065. Eight days later Edward died and
he was buried in front of the high altar.