Christ Church Winnetka, Illinois
Lacock Abbey and Village
The old English word "Lacuc"
means small stream. Was recorded in the mid 9th Century as "Lacok".
A small tributary to the River Avon runs close by. The village with its
twisted streets, gabled roofs and timber buildings is one of the prettiest in
England. Most buildings span the centuries Medieval to 18th Century.
The local church of St Cyriac with a fine perpendicular roof. The Abbey
was founded by Ela Countess of Salisbury in 1229, she became the Abbess and
served for 17 years. In the 17th Century the Abbey passed to the Talbot
family under very romantic circumstances. Olive a daughter of the house
was locked up by her father so she would not continue with an affair with a
Talbot. Olive leapt from the Abbey into her lovers arms, nearly killing
him in the process. Both in fact were saved by the petticoats that Olive
wore, as she fell they billowed out so breaking her fall. By her courage
and devotion to a Talbot her father let her marry and the Abbey and village
remained in the Talbot family until 1944 when Miss Matilda Talbot gave
everything to the national trust.
The home of the present
11th Duke of Marlbrough. The first Duke John Spencer gave battle to the
Frence and Bavarian forces at the village of Blenheim in 1704. He took a
force of 50,000 men on a 600 mile march to the Danube were the enemy was waiting
in a strong position. By tactical brilliance and by the personal
inspiration he gave his troops, he achieved a great victory. When he
returned to England he was created a Duke and granted the Royal Manor of
Woodstock with a promise that a sumptuous palace should be paid for by a
grateful country. The architect of Blenheim Palace was John Vanbrugh who
worked with Nicholas Hawksmoor on both Blenheim and Castle Howard in Yorkshire.
Marlborough went on to other famous victories at Ramillies, Oudenarde and
Malplaquet. The Palace was built between 1705 & 1722, it is set in over
2,000 acres of parkland (landscaped by Capability Brown) Blenhalm Palace is the
birthplace of Sir Winstone Churchill who was born here on the 30th November
Developed from the
Anglo Saxon words Cot and Wold, Cot meaning sheep pen. Wold meaning high windy
ground, that certainly can describe the area well, especially in the winter.
The soil is poor on the Wolds and not a lot of it but a great area for rearing
sheep. Hence the numerous villages with lovely churches (known as wool
churches) built by wealthy landowners centuries ago. The area is also
famous for the Cotswold stone a soft stone which yellows with age. Many
cottages will be seen built of Cotswold stone.
Can certainly lay claim
to being one of the most beautiful Cotswold towns. A superb High Street
slopes gently down to a three arch bridge spanning the River Windrush.
Some of the buildings such as the Bear Inn, Crown Inn and the Grammer School can
readily identify their roots in the 15th Century. A fine church
exists, St John, hidden from view down a lane at the foot of the High Street.
A wonderful mixture of accretion (add on's as and when money became available or
persons so decided) the tower is definitely Norman so is the West Doorway.
The Guild of Merchants chapel circa 1200 but remodelled in the 15th
Century. In May 1649 Cromwell imprisoned a group of mutineers in the
church for 3 nights after which they were to be shot. When three had been
executed Cromwell relented, one of the group “Sedley” scratched his name on the
font. In even earlier times the Anglo Saxons defeated the Mercians at the
battle of Edge now a playing field near the church. It is also written
that in 683 a council was convened at Burford attended by the King of Mercia at
which the date of Easter was fixed for the English church. The wealth of
the region coming from the surrounding sheep country during the middle ages.
To really appreciate Burford take time to walk the High Street.
life as a Roman fort which guarded the lowest Severn crossing and the legions
route into Wales (Glevum). The city later became the residence of Norman
Kings, while here William the Conqueror decided on the Doomsday survey.
The city has long been an inland port with its own harbour master. Famous
for its Cathedral it has also been the focal point of other important historic
main thoroughfares still follow the Roman roads and meet at the Cross. In
Brunswick Street is a memorial to Robert Raikes who founded the Sunday School
movement in nearby St Catherine Street. The New Inn in Northgate Street
was a half timbered 15th Century pilgrims hostelry. The Ravern Tavern in
Hare Lane, once the home of the Hoare Family who sailed in the mayflower to New
The present Cathedral
was started in about 1089 by a monk called Serlo from Mont St Michael in France.
The building was consecrated in 1100 though work did continue for some years to
come. The great East window is the largest Medieval window in Europe.
A central tower was built approx 1450 to replace the Norman one. The tower
stands 225 feet high and is one of the glories of Gloucester, seen for miles
around. The first appearance is of a Gothic Cathedral, but further close
inspection will reveal its Norman structure. The cloisters are amongst the
finest in England and are the earliest fan vaulted cloister still in existence.
They were built in the 14th Century and contain a magnificent lavatorium in the
North range and study carrels in the South range. The Kings school is very
much a part of the foundation, where the Cathedral Choristers are educated.
Music is very much a part of the tradition of Gloucester and is the venue every
3 years for the three choirs festival.
The Warehouse - Indoor Climbing Centre
Gloucestershires only indoor climbing centre. Offering climbing for young
and old with any ability, walls up to 13metres high and state of the art
climbing technologies promise a great day out for the whole family. Now
also offering Indoor Caving in their custom built 100m long caving complex.
Built over 800 years
ago and still the ancestral home of the Berkeley family who still live there,
the family, of course, have close associations with Berkeley U.S.A. The
oldest castle in Britain to have been continuously lived in by the same family.
Built as a fortress and used as a home, during its chequered history it has been
the scene of sieges during the civil war and terrible deeds. Its walls in
some places over 14 feet thick, turrets and towers stand majestic. This
was the scene in 1327 of the frightful murder of Edward II, he was imprisoned in
a cell close to the castle dungeon, a deep pit into which rotting carcasses and
half alive prisoners were thrown. It was anticipated the stench and filth
from the dungeon would overpower the prisoner in the cell. However Edward
survived for 5 months and ended up being tortured to death by his jailers.
The castle is also the site of the great hall where the West Country Barons met
before setting off to meet King John for the signing of Magna Carta in 1215.
Small but a real example of how we think a castle should look.
The historic city of
Winchester has been welcoming groups for centuries, ever since the first
pilgrims visited the shrine of St Swithun. Already an important town in
Roman times, it became the capital under the Anglo Saxons, and in Alfreds time
871-901 was a great centre of learning. William the Conqueror kept
Winchester as his capital and as late as the 17th Century Charles II planned a
palace here. The city is rich in important buildings, one such building is
the Great Hall, completed in 1235 it is a magnificent example of 13th Century
domestic architecture. It is now an Assize Court. Sir Walter Raleigh was
condemned to death here in 1603 and on the wall hangs what is called King
Arthur's Round Table, marked out and inscribed for his knights. However one
building stands out above all others, the cathedral.
building was started in 1079 and consecrated in 1093. Work from this
period can still be seen in the crypt, transepts and east part of the cloister.
Between 1189 and 1204 the lady chapel was built and the choir extended. It
is the longest Medieval Cathedral in Europe (556ft) in 1110 the central tower
collapsed and was rebuilt with the supporting piers greatly strengthened (they
are now 20ft in width). Among its treasures is the Great Winchester Bible dating
back to the 12th Century, this illuminated copy was written in the scriptorium
at Winchester and is now preserved in the Cathedral library.
Originally a 13th Century Cistercian Abbey, the stately home grew up
round the gatehouse and became the home of the Lords of Beaulieu. Today a very
popular attraction which encompasses the ruins of the Abbey, the house, gardens
and the national motor museum of over 250 cars. Take advantage of some fun
things such as go-karts, fast trax (motor racing simulator) and miniature
Portsmouth Royal Naval Museum
historic dockyard is home to great ships, such as HMS Victory, Lord Nelson's
Flagship from the battle of Trafalgar. HMS Warrior (1860) the worlds first
iron-hulled, armoured warship powered by steam, still afloat in Portsmouth
harbour. Also the Mary Rose, one of the most famous ships in the world,
built in 1510 and capsized and sank dramatically in an accident in 1545.
This great ship was raised again in 1982 and has undergone extensive
preservation work ever since, with the new museum opening in Spring 2013.
The Dockyard also houses the Royal Navy Museum and many other attractions.
Fishbourne Roman Villa
The site of one of the largest
non military Roman buildings yet discovered in Britain. Foundations came to
light in 1960 when a new water main was being laid for a housing estate.
Excavations uncovered a luxuriously fitted villa with over 100 rooms, it is
thought to have been built between 75AD – 100AD for King Cogidubnus leader of
the Atrebate tribe. He co-operated with the Romans and his reward a magnificent
pleasant town on the
lovely high street with a nice selection of shops and old houses.
town is dominated of course by the castle.
But does have
rebuilt in 1380 after the black death.
one end of it is the
where the family hold
two areas divided by a
forces bombarded the castle using cannon fired from the
tower hence most of the
fortifications where destroyed.
fine church is the Roman
built in 1870. It
became a Cathedral
been a settlement here since pre-roman times.
town was strategically important due to its location crossing the river on the
main east west road route through
has its origins in the
is depicted in the towns
castle has stood on this site since before
came in 1066.
However the oldest
parts of the existing building are probably
dating back to the time of
one of Williams
favourite knights. The
castle underwent several sieges and was extensively damaged by
forces during he Civil
which it fell into a very dilapidated state being restored in the 18th
and again in the 19th
when a further two towers where added by the then 15th
been the home of the
family for more than 500 years.
and through female descent the
the premier peers and hereditary
religious persecution the family
interior contains some fine rooms especially the
the library 117ft long and 35ft wide and constructed entirely in mahogany, plus
room especially designed for the visit of
in 1846. Hanging
from the walls art treasures including,
together with fine tapestries and furniture collected by the family over many
castle is surrounded by 1,000 acres of parkland and sits majestically
overlooking the surrounding landscape in similar fashion to that other great
castle at Windsor.
city dating back to 43AD when the Romans landed nearby and established a base
here. Evidence of their occupation can be seen in the remains of the defensive walls,
They also built a Palace at nearby Fishbourne, one of the largest Roman
buildings uncovered in Britain. When the Romans left, the Saxons
established a settlement here and the area continued to be quite peaceful and
prosperous. The present City lay out follows the original Roman plan of
walls and roads. North, South, East & West Streets crossing at the 16th
Century Butter Cross. Many fine Georgian houses exist especially in a
delightful street called Little London and the flat landscape makes it a fine
and very easy place to explore divided up as it is into four quadrants separated
by the main thoroughfares.
building began in about 1076 under the leadership of Bishop Stigand and
continued under Bishop Ralph De Luffa. A fire in 1114 hindered progress
but most of what we see today existed by 1123. The Cloisters were built in
approx. 1400, followed by the seven light window in the North Transept.
The Chapter House was also completed at about this time. The detached bell
tower was built during the early part of the 15th Century and while
many Cathedrals once had such a building, only the one at Chichester remains today.
It was built to take the weight of the eight massive bells from the Central
Tower. The spire and The Arundel Screen are also 15th Century.
The original Arundel Screen was removed in 1859 and this possibly precipitated
the collapse of the tower in 1861. In 1961 it was restored to its original
position as we see it today. The Prebendal School where the Choristers are
educated stands alongside the Cathedral and is the oldest school in Sussex and
was originally endowed by Edward Storey, Bishop in 1478. The vicars hall
bordering South Street is Circa 15th Century. The 12th
Century Undercroft is now the restaurant. The Vicars' Close also early 15th
Century. The Deanery was built in 1725 and the gateway at the end of Canon
Lane leading to the Bishops Palace is Circa 1327. The Palace just South of
the Cathedral contains a lovely 12th Century Chapel. The
gardens and serenity of this Cathedral is a joy to behold.